The Lucky Ones

The Lucky Ones

How do you put yourself back together when it seems like you've lost it all?

May is a survivor. But she doesn't feel like one. She feels angry. And lost. And alone. Eleven months after the school shooting that killed her twin brother, May still doesn't know why she was the only one to walk out of the band room that day. No one gets what she went through--no one saw and heard what she did. No one can possibly understand how it feels to be her.

Zach lost his old life when his mother decided to defend the shooter. His girlfriend dumped him, his friends bailed, and now he spends his time hanging out with his little sister...and the one faithful friend who stuck around. His best friend is needy and demanding, but he won't let Zach disappear into himself. Which is how Zach ends up at band practice that night. The same night May goes with her best friend to audition for a new band.

Which is how May meets Zach. And how Zach meets May. And how both might figure out that surviving could be an option after all.

Title:The Lucky Ones
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780593118498
Format Type:

    The Lucky Ones Reviews

  • Nilufer Ozmekik

    An effectively intense, emotional, heart wrenching, mind bending, sad, poignant, depressing debut novel shakes you to the core and making you non-stop sob, walking around with your teary red eyes and ...

  • ????? ?? ilikebooksbest.com ??

    The Aftermath!Extremely good and emotional book. It was a bit of a tearjerker, but not quite as bad as I expected. It deals with what happens in the aftermath of a school shooting, not so much the sho...

  • The Burning Rose (Jess)

    Book description: For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It Ends, and All the Bright Places, comes a new novel about life after.Me: I WANT I WANT THAT....

  • Nenia ?? Queen of Villainy ?? Campbell

    Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || PinterestSo I went into this expecting something like EVERY MOMENT AFTER by Joseph Moldover or HATE LIST by Jennifer Brown: a book that looks at the un...

  • Christy

    4 stars I’m a SURVIVOR. I’m the leftover. The lucky one. The only one in that room who lived. The Lucky Ones is a gut wrenching and moving story about moving through trauma and loss a...

  • alana ?

    "The fact is: I'm a SURVIVOR. I'm the leftover. The lucky one. The only one in that room who lived." This book is such a heart-wrenching, hard hitting, emotional journey that I devoured from start ...

  • Candace Robinson

    A story full of emotions and difficult things with teens that actually felt and struggled like teens! Beautifully written!...

  • Nursebookie

    School shootings have been an all too common occurrence for us here in America, where in 2019 there had been 25 incidents in schools and mass shootings totaling 419 - more incidents than we have days ...

  • Nina

    ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.The Lucky Ones by Liz Lawson was a pretty quick read once I’d actually gotten into the book. It’s one of the most heavy...

  • Susan's Reviews

    I am rating this four out of five stars, but more because of the serious subject matter and how well it was handled.I had to agree with one of the characters, Lucy, when she scolded May for being blin...